Look Both Ways

I’m not sure why, but one of my earliest memories is of my mother teaching me to look both ways before crossing the street. Now whenever I drive up to an insection I hear my mom say “Look right. Look left, then look right again.” It’s as if she was trying to tell me, “Lindsey, there’s more than one way to look at things. Look, and then look again. Now what do you see?”

As an editor, it’s my job to look and look again–to create prose with sense and logic and flow. As a writer, it’s my job to look at the world, observe what’s happening on the surface, and then to look harder for cause and meaning. Maybe that’s why faith, and art, and psychology are my main areas of interest–they each focus on the heart of the human experience. They each ask us to dig deeper for meaning. They help us make sense of the seemingly senseless.
There’s an ancient prayer form called the Examen that helps us to see the unseen–God at work in our days. First, we are to become aware of God’s presence. Then, reflect on your day, looking for areas to be grateful–where was God in this day? As you reflect, pay attention to your emotions–what stands out? Who stands out? Why? Look. Look again. Now what do you see? Pray on that thing today; act on it tomorrow. Does your day make just a little more sense?
Today, observe your surroundings. Pay attention to your interactions. Think about what they mean. There’s more than one way to look at things. Look. And then look again. Now what do you see?
Leave a Reply

