How Your Clothes Could Score You a Job

dresssuccess_sm

Remember those networking tips for introverts we talked about last week? I took my own advice and hauled my fanny into D.C. for a media networking event last night. My inner hermit grumbled the whole drive, but I reminded him that I only had to make one or two connections, keep people talking, and it was A-OK to leave early. Plus, I was wearing a bright new dress and my most confidence-inspiring ankle booties–I was ready!

If there is one tip I left off of my list, it’s wear something that makes you feel good.

There are three reasons for this:

  1. If you look good, you feel good.
  2. If you feel good, you’re more confident.
  3. And if you’re more confident, people notice.

I could add a fourth reason too: your personal style can even break the ice! That’s exactly how I met my first connection, and then my second connection, and my third. One even snatched me an hors d’oeuvre as a “best-dressed award.”

After an hour an a half, I had made two solid connections, recruited one person to join my organization’s membership, and exited gracefully. My inner hermit was pleased to be home by 8:30.

Success? I’d say so. I’ll have to write TJMaxx a thank you note.

3 comments

  1. High five! I had a job interview today and made myself keep trying things on this morning until I had on a really smashing outfit. It made me feel much more confident going into the meeting. And, I was offered a job!

Leave a Reply

