Woman, Medium, Alive: Dani P.S. Photography

DaniPSPhotography

“Woman. Medium. Alive.” That’s what my friend Dani said when asked to describe herself. Dani teaches children by day and moonlights as a photographer for her D.C.-based business Dani P.S. PhotographySince college, Dani’s creativity, love of life, and Carpe Diem attitude have inspired me, and these traits shine through her images. I admire anyone who has the guts to chase after their creative ambitions, so I thought it would be fun to interview Dani for today’s post.

What are you passionate about?
I’m passionate about the human experience. Capturing small, beautiful moments is just one way I get to preserve what it is to be alive, to be human. I’m constantly observing and noticing others and get really excited when I have the opportunity to capture the beauty that’s all around.

What made you decide to start Dani P.S. Photography?
I wanted to expand my portfolio and make a little extra cash for equipment so I decided to parlay one of my passions into a business.

What do you like best about being a business owner?
I like being able to share something that I love with others. It’s nice to make decisions about which projects I take on and having creative control is also a bonus.

How do you want your clients to remember you?
It’s my hope that my clients feel as though I listened to their ideas, captured their personalities, and provided quality images. It’s always my goal to make those I’m photographing feel relaxed and comfortable and important to me they have fun and enjoy the experience.

What have you learned about yourself through your business?
I’ve learned that taking risks is important and worthwhile. It’s not easy to put yourself out there, but it’s definitely worth it if it leads to doing what you love.

What do you still want to accomplish?
Someday I’d like to parlay my business into a full time gig and it’s my dream to exhibit and publish my work.

What advice do you have for young professionals?
Do what you love as much as possible.  At the end of the day I know I’ve spent time pursuing my passions when I feel energized because I’ve created something. I think it’s important for young people to consider what brings them joy, because every day should count and every moment is precious.

Here’s a preview of Dani’s work. To see more, check out her website, or follow her on Twitter @DaniPSphoto, or Facebook.

DPS_4

DPS_3

DPS_1

DPS_2

One comment

Leave a Reply

